Case Studies

The following examples demonstrate how our customers successfully exploit MAGMASOFT® in order to realize better casting quality, cost savings or reduction of development times.



When less is more

Producing large ductile iron axle housings can be a challenging task. The part shown above was well into production when a shrinkage defect was noticed during machining. After several attempts to find a solution, the foundry contacted MAGMA to evaluate the part design.

Problem corrected – case solved

An HPDC client in India who is a large manufacturer of motorcycles and scooters for both domestic and export markets, experienced porosity problems with a cast component from one of their suppliers after machining the casting on the top side.  

Engine blocks full of stress

Cast iron engine blocks can be found in more than half of all passenger cars. Their performance and weight are, among other criteria, dependent on their geometry and the casting process, especially defects like porosity and residual stresses.  

Real prototype – realistic casting?

Before start of production, many real castings are required for testing under realistic conditions. As with many of these prototype castings, the aluminum steering knuckle shown here was produced as a sand casting – a suitable process for low volume castings. The finite element analysis and durability calculations for a cyclic loading of the...

Small changes result in big improvement

The original gating system of a front fork component led to problems that were analyzed using MAGMASOFT®. The original design of the gating system of the front fork led to several problems that were detected by simulation. The top ingate was filled too quickly, and this caused casting defects due to turbulence and a large amount of...

Fallstudien

Die folgenden Beispiele demonstrieren, wie unsere Kunden MAGMASOFT® erfolgreich für bessere Gussteilqualität, Kostenreduzierungen oder Verkürzung von Entwicklungszeiten nutzen.



Weniger ist mehr

Die Herstellung von komplexen Achsgehäusen aus GJS ist eine Herausforderung. Während der Fertigung des Gussteils zeigte sich erst bei der Bearbeitung ein speisungsbedingter Fehler im Gussteil. Da der Fehler auch nach mehreren Versuchen in der Gießerei nicht sicher abzustellen war, wurde MAGMA gebeten, die Gießtechnik zu überprüfen.

Fehler beseitigt – Problem gelöst

Bei einem großen indischen Hersteller von Motorrädern und Rollern traten bei einem Druckgussteil immer wieder Porositätsprobleme nach der Bearbeitung auf. Durch die Simulation zeigte sich, dass die Lage und Konstruktion einer Rippe dazu führte, dass Schmelze vorläuft und anschließend Luft in der Kavität einschließt.

Spannungsvolle Motorblöcke

Zylinderblöcke aus Gusseisen kommen in mehr als der Hälfte aller Autos zum Einsatz. Die Konstruktion ist neben der Geometrie auch vom Gießprozess und den Eigenschaften abhängig.

Realer Prototyp – realistisches Gussteil?

Schon vor Beginn der Serienfertigung werden zahlreiche Gussteile für Tests unter realistischen Einsatzbedingungen benötigt. Wie viele dieser Gussprototypen wurde dieses Aluminium-Fahrwerksteil in Sandguss gefertigt – ein bevorzugter Prozess für Gussteile mit niedriger Stückzahl.

Kleine Änderung – große Wirkung

Das ursprüngliche Gießsystem einer Vorderradgabel führte zu verschiedenen Problemen, die von MAGMASOFT® aufgezeigt wurden. Der obere Teil des Angusses wurde zu schnell gefüllt, dies führte zu Turbulenzen und Lufteinschlüssen, was wiederum Gussfehler erzeugte. Im unteren Teil verursachten die Turbulenzen ein Wärmezentrum und damit einen...